Featured News Local Government News Recent News

Mt. Ephraim Commissioners Designate 2018 Annual Appointments

At their January 11, 2018 monthly meeting, the Mt. Ephraim Commissioners approved the annual appointments and the Municipal Court Personnel for 2018.

At their January 11, 2018 monthly meeting, the Mt. Ephraim Commissioners approved the 2018 annual appointments.

2018 Annual Appointments

Department of Public Safety and Public Affairs

Police Chief – Brian Conte
Police Captain – Vacant
Police Desk Clerk/Matron – Joanne McGrory
Crossing Guards – Cathy Hall, Debbie Gardner, Diane Keel, Anna Marie Conley
Municipal Court Bailiff –  Paul Bibk
Senior Citizen Coordinator – Karen Herman
Fire Chief – Brian Gilmore
Emergency Management Director – Jay Vilardo
Safety Coordinator – Michael Williams
Assistant Safety Coordinator – Jason Green

Department of Revenue and Finance

Borough Clerk – Terry Shannon
Tax Collector/Treasurer – Dorothea Jones
Sewer Collector/Deputy Clerk – Tara Martin
Payroll/Benefits/AP Clerk – Patricia Moriarty
Tax Assessor – Brian Schneider
Planning Board Secretary, Assistant to the Assessor – Tara Martin
Finance Officer – David McPeak
Registrar of Vital Statistics – Tara Martin
Deputy Registrar – Dorothea Jones
Alt. Registrars – Terry Shannon, Patricia Moriarty
Tax Office Clerk – Kim Beebe

Department of Public Works, Parks & Public Property

Public Works Superintendent – Joseph L. Ciano
Assistant Superintendent of DPW – James Beebe
Highway Department Employees –  Michael Hughes, David Carey, Harry Smith, Michael Minutola, Jason Green
Sewer Operator – Jeff Baker
Zoning Enforcement Officer – Tara Martin
Building Code Secretary – Tara Martin
Construction Code Official –  Stephen Beach
Plumbing Sub-Code Official: Charles Johnson
Building Sub-Code Official: Stephen Beach
Electrical Sub-Code Official: Mark Lagge
Fire Sub-Code Official: Ralph Jones
Property Maintenance Officer – Stephen Beach
Rental Inspection Officer & Chicken Inspector – Ken Herman

Municipal Court Personnel

Effective January 1, 2018, the following individuals have been appointed to the Municipal Court positions as indicated under the Shared Services Agreement for Municipal Court Services with the Borough of Oaklyn.

Court Administrator – Dawn Abate
Deputy Court Administrator – Sharon McMaster
Deputy Court Administrator – Karen Eckert
Deputy Court Administrator – Cynthia White
Municipal Court Prosecutor – Andrew Viola, Esq.
Public Defender – Charles W. Wiggington, III, Esq.
Public Defender (secondary) – William J. Stopper, Esq.

Agenda Items

All other Resolutions on the Commissioners’ agenda were approved, including vouchers totaling $820,881.17

Excerpts From Commissioners’ Reports

Commissioner Andrew Gilmore

Commissioner Gilmore provided the reports for the Mt. Ephraim Police and Fire Departments for December, 2017:

Fire Department

15 calls for mutual aid
4 motor vehicle accidents
5 alarms
3 dwelling fires
7 incidental calls
1 vehicle extrication

The Fire Department also assisted the Police Department and EMS 6 times

There were 41 total calls for the month. One drill was conducted — with a total of 26 total man hours.

The amount of volunteer man hours for the month totalled 214.

Police Department

548 total calls received
322 case numbers assigned
26 answered alarms
80 ambulance assists
7 animal complaints
1 assault
1 burglary
6 calls for criminal mischief
1 disorderly person
3 domestic violence offenses
11 drug offenses
21 calls for information
2 missing persons
15 motor vehicle accidents
5 shoplifters
Three 911 verifications
8 suspicious vehicles or persons
11 vacation or business checks
18 warrants served
167 motor vehicle summonses issued

There were 19 adult arrests for the month:

1 for burglary
1 for criminal mischief
1 for disorderly conduct
1 for hindering apprehension
10 for possession of Controlled Dangerous Substance (CDS)
3 for possession of drug paraphernalia
2 for shoplifting

Two officers attended an Internal Affairs training session.

Commissioner Michael “Traz” Tovinsky

Commissioner Tovinsky stated that there were 83,700 pounds of single stream recycling. Trash tonnage amounted to 163 tons at a cost of $11,839 to Camden. The Borough received $227.10 for 3,420 pounds of metal.

Archie’s Plumbing took care of plumbing problems at the Dougherty Center.

PSE&G was called to repair the street lights on Kings Highway.

Construction Office Report for December

22 permits were issued totalling $3,665.
2 vacant property registrations for $1,000.
5 re-sale of COs (Certificates of Occupancy) for $600.

2017 Totals

There were 55 construction permits issued that brought in $41,704 and 51 vacant property registrations that brought in $60,291. Resale of COs totalled 97 and brought in $11,520.

Borough Engineer’s Report

The Borough engineer, Joe Federici, said that design for the Northmont Avenue project is underway and is expected to go out for bid within the next month or two. Construction is slated to begin in spring or summer.

Mayor Joe Wolk

As part of his report, Mayor Wolk said that taxes received for December totaled: $142,194.91.

He thanked everyone who participated in the Christmas parade and all of the volunteers.

The 2018 budget is being worked on. “Our sense is that we have may have an introduction for April reading,” he said.

Monthly Meeting Time Change

Caucus will be Thursday, January 23 at 3:00 p.m. and Mayor Wolk said that the time for the regular meetings has been changed from 8:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

“This is our new time and this is the first time the has been changed in the Borough for a number of years,” he said.