Bright Side Featured News Recent News

Borough of Bellmawr Among 31 Grant Recipients to Receive Funding Under Safe Routes to School (SRTS) Program

The Borough of Bellmawr has been awarded $422,000.00 for Peach Road and Victory Drive intersection improvements.

On May 31, 2022, the New Jersey Department of Transportation (NJDOT) officials announced $19.6 million for 31 grants under the Safe Routes to School (SRTS)program.

This represents the largest amount ever awarded for the program.

Locally, grants were awarded to:

  • Borough of Bellmawr Safe Routes to School – Peach Road and Victory Drive Intersection Improvements – $422,000.00
  • Borough of Clementon Safe Routes To School – Intersection Improvements – $470,000.00
  • Borough of Haddon Heights Safe Routes To School – Installation of Missing Sidewalks – $1,200,000.00

“The Safe Routes to School program is a great example of how NJDOT, working with the state’s three regional planning authorities, helps our communities access federal funding for local transportation projects,” NJDOT Commissioner Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti said. “These grants will provide resources to improve sidewalks and bike paths to encourage children to stay active by walking and biking to school.”

The SRTS is a federally-funded program to increase pedestrian safety among motorists and schoolchildren.

Projects are designed to improve safety, as well as reduce traffic, fuel consumption, and air pollution near schools.

Of the 31 grants being awarded to local governments to make pedestrian safety improvements near K-8 schools, 22 grants totaling $13.8 million are within the NJTPA region, which includes Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren counties.

Special consideration was given to applications that addressed equity by providing benefits to underserved communities, low-income residents, minorities, those with limited English proficiency, persons with disabilities, children, and older adults.

Click the image below to view all of the 2022 Safe Routes to School Program Grant recipients: